Day Two

It’s currently day two of my Please-Sleep-In-Your-Crib-For-Your-Naps-Gwen plan. I was quite content holding her when she was brand new, but now that she’s 5 1/2 months old, she’s getting heavy, and this mama’s arms are ready for a break!

Gwen playing with Daddy

Gwen playing with Daddy

So far she’s doing pretty good. She’s only sleeping 30 – 45 minutes at a time, but I hear that’s pretty common! (At least, not a single mom I know has a baby who’s sleeping two 1.5 – 2 hour naps … most sleep three or four 30 minute naps. Who do they write those baby books about??) I hear their naps get longer eventually on their own, around 7 – 8 months. Honestly, though, I’m glad I held her so much when she was brand new. I don’t think I’ll ever look back and wish I’d held her more, although I’ll probably look back and think it didn’t last long enough :)

It’s also getting a tad hard to hold her at night after she goes to sleep, since she’s going down now around 7:30 or 8:30. I was willing to hold her when she went to sleep at 10 and I’d go to bed at 11, but I’m not so interested in holding her for a few hours at night.

cimg3071sz

So last night, I swaddled her and nursed her around 7:30 then rocked her and sang to her until she fell asleep at 8. She woke up a few times after that (between 8 and 9:30) but was easily soothed back to sleep by Brad afterward – wuhoo! She was only awake twice to nurse last night between 8 pm and 6:30 am, when she was up for the day … she woke up a few times more than that, but was easily soothed back to sleep without nursing.

I hope this is the beginning of a bit more sleep independence. I’m quite ready to have some time in the evenings to spend both by myself and with my husband!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day Two

  1. Nicole (AUS)

    Kim I am so proud of you both!! It sure is hard to make that transition, but you are doing it in a loving and caring way, and its good for you and her!! I really hope Gwen can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

