daddy’s little girl

Well, I’d be remiss if I let Father’s Day go by without devoting a post to my Daddy! I have such great memories of my dad as a kid … he used to take me to the store while my sisters were taking piano (or Jenn was doing ballet) and let me have ketchup (!!) chips and buy some 5-cent candies (by some, I mean $1.00 worth – do you *know* how much candy that is to a kid?).

Me and my Daddy

^ That’s me and my dad circa … 1987? 1988?- he’s wearing Mr. Potato Head gear =)

And when I started growing up, he drove me to ballet (don’t laugh …), piano, Norfolk Notables, and most importantly, swimming! We had a great time on all those drives, and he totally let me listen to Big Shiny Tunes 2 for like a year straight. And he built me a treehouse in the backyard!

When I was a teenager and my dad bought his first surround-sound system, we watched the first movie on it together – The Empire Strikes Back (it really does have fantastic bass – it used to shake the water in the fish tank!).

My dad’s been a great help to both myself and Brad over the years, and I’d like to take this opportunity to say, “Thanks so much, Dad, for everything that you do!”

Yesterday for Father’s Day, Brad and I went to Brantford since, for Father’s Day, my dad requested “No movie!”, but *did* request our presence to sit by the pool and come for dinner. Really. How could we refuse? We had a great afternoon and evening with my parents.

Hangin’ at the pool listening the the “LOVE” album (a Beatles remix for Cirque de Soleil – if you like the Beatles, check this album out!)

Daddy at the Pool

Then we had a fabulous dinner – my Mom made her incredible BBQ Spare Ribs … *drool*. Then we hung out for a bit afterwards and played Euchre.

Euchre

Thanks for being such a fun dad, Dad! We had a great time and hope you did too! =)

P.S. I can’t wait to see you as a grandpa – you’re going to be the best!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “daddy’s little girl

  1. Aww, that was sweet. 🙂

  2. jenny

    that was a super sweet post kim 🙂 i love the pictures of dad, he looks great in all of them. awwww i wish we could’ve been there

  3. Mommy

    Hey Kim:
    What an awesome post about your Daddy. Thank you Jenny, for thinking to tell me about this blog. I will definitely make sure your Daddy reads it!
    And Kim, thanks to you and Brad from coming down and making Father’s Day extra special to your Daddy. He appreciated that more than you could possibly imagine! *Big Smiles*

Leave a Reply

