How much is just right?

I was reading this post over at the Yarn Harlot’s blog and it got me to thinking. Brad and I talk quite a bit about how much time we are going to allow our future children to spend watching/playing the tv/internet/computer/video games. Since we do not have cable and get no channels, the tv’s a no-brainer – they won’t be watching any. However, we will have computers (and probably more than one!) and we will definitely have the internet – how much internet/games is too much?

And then I started thinking about myself =)

If I’m going to have a time rule for my kids on how much time they can spend on the internet or on the computer, am I then obligated to adhere to the rule as well? If I look at how much I’m on the internet these days would I ever want my kids to be on it that much?? HECK NO! Summers are bad, mind you. I work part-time and there’s no one else home during the day. I get bored, and I therefore waste time reading blogs/forums, etc. Sometimes I’m on it forever, but for a purpose (ie. researching how to get to NYC for the cheapest, like today, or research cloth diapering, lol). Other days, I’m really just trying to pass the time. It all depends. Either way, I know that when I have my kids, I’m going to have to put a limit on how much time I spend online, so that I don’t end up like this!

And, for your watching pleasure, a great commercial over at Sarahthedoula. I love it!

P.S. Yesterday at work I heard Blame It On The Rain by Milli Vanilli. Wow. It’s been like, 17 years. And I very clearly remember my 5- or 6-year old self being devestated by the lip-syncing news. And running outside and singing this song at the top of my lungs while crying. I was apparently a bit melodramatic!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How much is just right?

  1. That made me giggle, I can picture you a little melodramatic but I am not sure if ‘was’ is the right word ;-). Just kidding. You didn’t tell me that part of the story.

    What about their father? Will he have to adhere to that rule seeing as how…you know…a lot of what he does is centered on computers and the internet? We will have to figure out differences between leisure time on the internet and work related time for (home)work also.

    p.s. I would definitely not want to eat like that.

  2. Kim

    We’ll definitely need to figure out what counts as leisure time and what counts as work, since I’m sure teachers will be more reliant on the internet for projects/homework as time goes on.

    p.s. I’m glad you don’t want us to feed our babies in the bathroom!

Leave a Reply

