Woah.

First of all, I see by my stats that a lot of people check out this here blog. I don’t know who’s reading my blog lately, and I’m definitely missing all the comments I used to get – so please, leave me a note in the comments and let me know you’ve stopped by … I’d love to know who’s reading =) On to more interesting things …

 

A knitting post! Imagine that!

 

What with all the schoolin’ I done been doing, there’s been very little time to knit! I have been working on my first pair of socks since … well, for a while, anyways!

Here they (it) are (is):

 

Sock

 

Brad thought I was in some sort of knitterly denial and that the sock looked too big to fit on my leg – boy did I prove him wrong! I whipped off the sock that I had on and pulled this puppy up – and surprise, it fits!! Wuhoo! (I then also promptly took a pic, as I realized I hadn’t taken any yet!) I’m only going to make it long enough that it won’t slouch too much in the winter boots, so I’m about 3/4 of the way done the leg part. I’m a bit afraid of the heel, I must say! I got the pattern from Lettuce Knit (it came free with my STR yarn). I was going to use the Yarn Harlot‘s sock pattern, but I loaned the book out and haven’t got it back yet. So, this pattern it is! I’ve managed to snap one of my double pointed needles (DPNs), but thankfully one of the ladies at work had a nail file =) I think maybe a pair of metal DPNs would come in handy for sock knitting, as apparently I stress the needles out too much!!

 

P.S. Oh, and btw, today I ate Kraft Dinner for lunch … for those of you who know me well, you will know that this is abnormal. The thought of the stuff generally makes me feel … well, ill. But I was craving it – blame it on the baby!!

P.P.S. I don’t know what’s up with the generous returns in the post – there’s not normally that much of a gap, but I can’t see the problem! LOL

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Woah.

  1. doozy

    I just found you in my tag surfer for “knitting”, yay! I am looking into knitting my first pair of socks ever, but I can’t decide whether to use double pointed needle or knit them in the round using those needles with the plastic string between them. Have you used those ever?
    Actually, how did you find knitting socks for the first time, hard? I have only made a shrug and some scarves so far, but I’d like to branch out!

  2. sorry to break it to you but a fair portion of the traffic you get might be from bots from around the world that are crawling your site, maybe indexing for search engine or trying to harvest email addresses for spam. unless you are getting many thousands of hits, in which case i am very humbled.

  3. kimschell

    Doozy – I’m actually enjoying knitting the socks! It’s taking quite a while though, since I don’t have much ‘knitting-devoted’ time. I like using the double pointed needles, and although I have used a cable needle before, I don’t know how to do ‘magic loop’ for socks (you have to use one looooong cable needle for socks because they have such a small circumference, and I don’t know how!)

    Dave – thanks for the vote of confidence 😛 I can see where most of the traffic is coming from (ie. clicked this URL to get to you, came to you from this blog, searched for “X” term and found you, etc.), so I know most of it is actual people 🙂

  4. Kraft Dinner… is that mac & cheese?

    Try Annie’s Organic! It’s yummy and comes in a whole wheat variety.

  5. Ooooh. I’ve working on some longies for Gabby, I should do them in the round but haven’t quite mastered it yet… Maybe on the next pair.

    Here is the pattern!

    http://www.tinybirdsorganics.com/organicwool/newbornpantspattern/Tiny%20Birds%20Newborn.pdf

    Btw, I craved Kraft Dinner(Mac n Cheese) when I was pg, I could eat an entire box in one sitting *blush*

  6. kimschell

    Nice!!! Love the pattern – I’ll have to try it out! Thankfully I don’t know anyone who’s pregnant right now that I need to knit for, so I’ve got at least the next 6 months to knit for our little bean … he/she’ll be the warmest baby next winter EVER! LOL

    Don’t be afraid of knitting in the round – it’s sooo much better than seaming =) I despise seaming, so learning to knit in the round was a necessity for me!

  7. Stephanie

    Hi there 🙂 I don’t know how I found your blog, but I’m glad I did. I’m 7 week pregnant myself and I love your progress pics. I was especially happy to see your U/S picture, so wonderful! Congratulations! I’m Stephanie btw and I’m on cafemom as SugarKing 🙂 Just getting started with all this pregnancy stuff. You’re doing good!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

