18 Weeks!

Phew! 18 weeks of pregnancy behind me, 22 weeks in front of me! I can’t believe how fast the time is going!

This week, June Bug enters his/her time of greatest activity! He/she’s kicking/moving/punching/rolling up a storm in the warmth and safety of my uterus, and I can feel it! I’m feeling more and more movement every day, and not only am I feeling more of it, it’s also getting more defined. I’m feeling pokes/kicks several times a day now along with the rolling/tickling feelings. It’s truly the most incredible feeling in the world!June Bug is around 5.5 inches long and weighs about 7 oz (that’s a half a pound!). Apparently my placenta weighs another 7 oz, my uterus weighs 11 oz, the amniotic fluid weighs another 11 oz, and each breast weighs an extra 7 oz. So that’s … carry the two … almost 4 lbs from baby/baby related paraphenelia. Hmm … I wonder what’s happening with the other 9 or 10 lbs! Pads have begun to form on June Bug’s fingers and fingerprints are beginning to take shape! His/her bowel is also beginning to accumulate meconium (the first stool passed). At my midwife appointment, my uterus was one finger-breadth (about 2 cm) below my belly button and June Bug’s heart rate was 140 bpm. I don’t think June Bug likes the doppler though – the student midwife kept losing the heartbeat and having to chase him/her around to find it!

Here’s this week’s belly pic … I can’t believe how big it’s getting! People are definitely starting to notice and ask before I even tell them I’m pregnant. What fun!

18 Weeks

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “18 Weeks!

  1. Congrats! I remember those days so fondly! 🙂

  2. kimschell

    Thanks!! I checked out your blog – your boys are the cutest!

  3. the big sister

    very pretty belly 🙂

    kim is that the same dresser from kelly drive?

  4. Congratulation! 🙂 I hope you and your baby will always be healthy.

  5. kimschell

    Jenny – it is indeed the same =) It’s awful, eh? The drawers don’t even stay in anymore … lol

    Gunady – thanks!

  6. the big sister

    its not awful i love it!!! i still have the night tables that mom/dad had from their first set of furniture, i’ll never get rid of them b/c they have such sentimental value. i love that you still have it 🙂 xxx

  7. kimschell

    LOL – I love that we have it too … if it can get fixed (both Dave and Graham quite enjoy wood-working), it’ll probably get passed down to our kids! =)

Leave a Reply

