23 Weeks!

Wow. Last summer I took our fourth year research course and was placed in the NICU at McMaster University Medical Centre’s Children’s Hospital. Some of the babies were really, really teeny. Some of those babies were the size that June Bug is right now – 1 lb.

At 8 inches from crown-to-rump, June Bug is getting bigger and bigger! This past week, I could actually see my belly move from the outside when I got kicked. It’s such an amazing feeling! June Bug still stubbornly refuses to kick for Brad … I’ll be sitting there wondering if we’ve conceived a circus performer but the second Brad puts his hand on my belly, all movement stops! We watched the last DVD of Lord of the Rings: Return of the King this week and Brad had his hand on my tummy practically the WHOLE time. And do you think June Bug would move for him?? Noooo! *grins* Stubborn little thing! I love my baby so much already!

The bones in June Bug’s inner ear have hardened now, and it’s easier for him/her to make out sounds – both inside my body and outside it. We’ve yet to play June Bug any music yet, though, since we don’t seem to be home much these days, but we’re planning on it! I can’t wait to find out what type of music he/she prefers!

I’m always amazed at the schematic pictures of how big the baby is that I’m carrying inside me. Click here to see a diagram of what June Bug looks! So big compared to the sesame seed he/she once was! With every day that goes by, I get more and more excited to meet the little person growing inside me and call him/her by his/her name. Just thinking about meeting our child brings tears to my eyes. Only 17 weeks to go!

Here’s this week’s belly pics … I love laying them out beside each other and looking at the progression of it’s growth!:

23 Weeks 1

23 Weeks 2

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “23 Weeks!

  1. Miguel

    Congratulations! I still remember my wife’s belly… it was so big that it could explode at any moment πŸ™‚ But most of all, touching it and feeling the baby that we made with so much love was beyound any description!

  2. the big sister

    i wish i could rub your belly for luck. you are such a pretty preggo kim πŸ™‚ i can’t believe how big you’re getting, its so much bigger than before (like duh!)

Leave a Reply

