6 Week Appointment!

I truly didn’t believe that it was possible for time to move this quickly. Every day Gwen changes so much and I find myself loving and enjoying her more and more =)

Love the shirt!

Love the shirt!

Well, we went for our six week follow-up appointment today and all is going well! My little miss weighed in at 9 lb 14 oz (she was 8 lb 13 oz at her four week), and is now 21.75 inches long (born at 19.5 inches!). She’s so much bigger than she used to be!

Gwen hanging out on the Winnie the Pooh playmat

Gwen hanging out on the Winnie the Pooh playmat

Jenny, I don’t think you need to send us the monkey hat – she’s already outgrowing the onesie!

Gran trying to get Gwen to smile for the camera

Gran trying to get Gwen to smile for the camera

Gwen smiles now – and it is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen in my whole life. She’s got two – a little smile and half-smile, and a full face grin. I keep trying to catch it on camera, but that girl refuses to smile for the camera!!

Gwen sleeping on Daddy

Gwen sleeping on Daddy

Gwen LOVES sleeping on our chests. If ever she’s fighting sleep, we just put her on our chests like this and walk around and she’s out like a light!

Gwen tolerating enjoying tummy time

Gwen having some tummy time

Gwen has started to tolerate enjoy playing on her own for short periods of time – normally about 3 – 5 minutes. I love watching her kick her legs and stare at stuff in the room!

Gwen and me

Gwen and me

Gwen is quite capable of holding her head up – especially when she’s being carried like above!! She pushes herself away from your body and holds her head fairly stable … for a while, anyways. Then she lets go and head-butts your shoulder =)

Gwen and Brad

Gwen and Brad

Gwen taking a nap in the bassinet

Gwen taking a nap in the bassinet

Gwen sleeps pretty well at night – she normally feeds around 10:30 pm and goes to sleep until 3 – 4:00 am and then sleeps again until 7 – 8:00 am. So we’re getting, normally, between 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night … it’s incredible what that much sleep will do for your sanity!

I purchased a Heart 2 Heart sling – and I would 100% recommend them to anyone! It is fantastic quality, and so so comfortable! I also found an online store – The Baby Habit – that sells baby t-shirts!!! When she’s wearing her wool diaper covers – and especially on the really hot days – we like putting her in t-shirts, since they look awfully cute with the covers! When I get the t-shirts, I’ll be sure to take some pics of her in them and her covers.

Breastfeeding is going very well. I was trying the block feeding and it made a difference for a bit, but then she appeared un-satisfied after feeds again and there wasn’t much of a change in poop colours. So, I went to see a Lactation Consultant who was thoroughly unhelpful. That afternooon, though, my Heart 2 Heart sling was dropped off at my house by a La Leche League leader, who helped me work through what was going on. Things have been much better ever since!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “6 Week Appointment!

  1. so what was going on with the BF’ing? did you go back to double breasties? was it an oversupply issue? i’m so curious…

    great update too. gwen is so adorable. i can’t believe how big she is 🙂 don’t forget to let us know when you’re doing the christening so we can come down, august is starting to book up fast

    love you lots xxx

  2. kimschell

    The lady thought that I caused my *own* oversupply by doing the block feeding!! I definitely have an overactive letdown, but she said the green poo wasn’t a problem if Gwen is gaining well and isn’t gassy. Since I’ve gone back to double breasties (lol), she’s been better again and had only a few green poos. I mistakenly thought that only the later letdowns were hindmilk since they looked so much creamier than my first letdown at each breast. But the lady said that a letdown *is* hindmilk, and therefore once she pops off the first breast, she’s done with it and then I should burb and offer the other side. Sometimes she’ll actually feed off both sides twice! I’ve got a hungry, hungry girl!

  3. love all the pics! I can see you in Gwen

Leave a Reply

