The other camp.

As I was reading through my Google Reader today (I have 42 blogs on my reader! 42! Wait … isn’t that the answer to the meaning of life, the universe, and everything?) I came across an entry from one of my favourite bloggers, Julie-Anne. This stuck out at me:

But, there is a process a woman goes through in postpartum which can fall into the second camp. This camp believes that postpartum blues can be a part of the normal adjustment to life with a new baby and the process of grief as the family dynamics change. A postpartum mom is also not immune to outside stressors. These can affect your journey as well. (Please check out the post – titled The Postpartum Rainbow – to read the rest of it!)

I needed to hear these words! Sometimes I truly believe I am suffering from postpartum depression. Most of the time, though, I believe I’m making a transition into becoming a mom;Ā  a transition that is difficult for all, but which has been made all the more difficult by my early postpartum days (Gwen’s weight loss and supplementing regime and my thrombophlebitis), our ongoing breastfeeding struggles (oversupply, a very forceful letdown, and a lot of leaking … although I think these things are finally starting to even out!), a colicky baby, significant extended family crises, as well as the fact that we are still not completely moved in and set up … 6 months after moving!

Posts like Julie-Anne’s make me feel like I’m not alone. That I’m normal for feeling disillusioned. Oh how I needed to hear those words!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “The other camp.

  1. Jen

    Thanks for posting this šŸ™‚ I think it’s hard sometimes for me to distinguish what has been normal adjustment and what has been more than that. Talking to the counsellor has helped. I am a strong believer in learning coping skills, and I am glad that no one has pushed me toward meds. I have received the suggestion many many times, but I know this is something I just need to live through and learn from, and feel ok with my choice not to take them.

    And it DOES help to know we’re not alone!

    If there is anything I can ever do to help you, you know where to reach me šŸ™‚ I may not be much help for advice, but I have a LOT of Kleenex and usually a pot of (decaf) tea made šŸ™‚

  2. Kathryn

    I had ppd after Nadia and some of it is circumstantial, being that your whole life is changed and different. But I think there is also something else there too. If you ever need anyone to talk to, to share difficult thoughts and feelings, chances are I’ve been there, I’m more than happy to talk.

  3. I am currently subscribed to 61 feeds… it could be worse. Some of those almost never have posts though.

  4. kimschell

    Thanks for the offers, ladies! It’s good to know I have someone to go to if I need it =)

    And Catherine – LOL – that’s a LOT of feeds! Sometimes I think about deleting the ones that almost never post, but I can’t bring myself to do it … what if they do post?

  5. yep i remember thinking “my life is never going to be the same again” to which other mom’s responded “nope! it never will!” – its hard to come to terms with. not to say the joy in being a mom is diminished, because its not… but the best advice i was given is: give yourself time to mourn the passing of your former life (your pre-mom life) & lean on your friends & family, especially other mom’s. we’ve all been through it. its a universal experience. i love you sis

  6. just passing this along… because your post spoke to me strongly. my friend joanna sent this blog entry to me (its a friend of hers) & reading it i found i had tears streaming down my face because i could relate. i think some of it will speak to you too…

    http://ripplebliss.blogspot.com/2008/05/rachelle-at-8-months.html

  7. kimschell

    thanks jenny!! i think that’s good: time to mourn.

Leave a Reply

